Easy Steps for Blocking Someone on Facebook

Blocking someone on Facebook restricts the other person to find, message, poke you, or view your details. It is an effective way that removes the presence of the unwanted person from you. It protects you from toxic people or persons with whom you do not want to communicate.

When you block someone, they will be unable to see your profile and timeline. The person further cannot tag you or add you as a friend. They will not be able to start a conversation with you. It also restricts them from inviting you to events or groups. Keep that in mind that even you will not be able to do things like adding them as a friend or starting a conversation.

Blocking someone from a friend list will automatically unfriend that person. If you ever unblock the person, you have to add them again. So before blocking someone, think whether you want to block that person or to unfriend them.

Here are some easy steps for blocking someone on Facebook.

Blocking Someone from their Profile

block someone on facebook

block someone on facebook

Step 1

Open the official Facebook site, i.e., www.facebook.com. You can also open it through the Facebook app on any smartphone, tablet, or computer. After that, you can log in to your Facebook profile.

Step 2

Visit the profile page of the person whom you want to block. You can also search the name on the search bar at the top.

How to Create a Facebook Page

Step 3

Once you see the profile page of the person, a three-dot or ellipsis button will be visible to you on the right side near the message button. Click on it.

Step 4

After clicking the three-dot or ellipsis button, a menu containing a list of options will dropdown. Select the ‘Block’ option from the list.

Step 5

A screen will pop up, asking you to confirm blocking or cancel it. Click on the confirm button to allow Facebook to block the person. The person then will be blocked.

Blocking Someone from the Settings

Step 1

Open Facebook on a personal computer, smartphone, or tablet. Log into your account profile.

Step 2

After logging in, a page with Facebook news feed and icons on top will open. On the top right corner, there will be an icon having three lines. Click on it.

Step 3

A page will open having your profile name and other options like groups, settings & privacy, log out, etc. Then click on the ‘Settings & Privacy’ option. 

Step 4

Click on the ‘Settings’ option from a list of options available in settings & privacy page. Then a page will appear having account settings, security, privacy, your Facebook information, ads, and many more.

Step 5

Under the Privacy section, then the ‘Blocking’ option is present. You can scroll down to the privacy section or search on the tab on the top of the page.

Step 6

Click on the blocking option. In the block users page, enter the person’s name you want to block. Select the specific individual from the list of names. Then click on ‘Block.’ A popup display will appear on your screen asking you to confirm blocking or cancel it. Click again on the ‘Block’ option. Now the person is blocked.

Conclusion:

Sometimes, blocking on Facebook becomes necessary to remove people you don’t like. It does not restrict the blocked person from using social media or to connect with other users. It is just a way of avoiding a person from your social media circle. Blocking becomes good because the toxicity of any person will not bother you anymore. 

All the above steps will aid you to block someone from Facebook and prevent them from remaining in contact with you.

Leave a Reply